A Basic Overview of the U.S. Government

U.S. Government 101

​evote America
No political parties. No campaign donors.
The U.S. Constitution sets forth a three-branch federal government overseeing all 50 states:
(1) Legislative Branch: Law-making power is vested in 535 Congressmen.
(2) Executive Branch: Law-enforcing power is vested in the President.
(3) Judicial Branch: Law-adjudicating power is vested in the Supreme Court.

The Legislative Branch was intended to "represent" the will of the American People, using a two-house Congress:

(1) Senate: There are 2 Senators for each state (50 x 2 = 100). Each Senator represents their entire state. Senators are elected once every 6 years at a salary of $174,000/year, funded by taxpayers.
(2) House of Representatives: Each state has Federal Districts. There are 435 House Representatives, one representing each Federal District. The number of Federal Districts in each state is dependent on population. States with more people have more Federal Districts. States with less people have less Federal Districts. For example, Texas has 36 Federal Districts, while Rhode Island has 2 Federal Districts. House Representatives are elected by each Federal District once every 2 years at a salary of $174,000/year, funded by taxpayers. 

According to a Huffington Post investigation , congressmen in our current 1% Political Party System spend 50% of their work day collecting campaign donations for their next election. Only 40% of a congressman's work day is spent on congressional matters while the remaining 10% is personal.

In a 100% Evoting Democracy, an Evoting Congressman will spend zero time with a political party, zero time with lobbyists, and zero time collecting campaign donations.  The bulk of an Evoting Congressman's work day will be spent corresponding with the American People through the Evoting Service. The process for becoming an Evoting Congressman is illustrated below.